Velosolex Club U.K.

The only club for owners & enthusiasts, dedicated entirely to the Solex   

Forums

Forum Home > Notes for putting your Solex through the M.O.T. test before having it registered > Putting your Solex though the first M.O.T. test

Paul G
Site Owner

For the sake of this article, please be aware that all the following statements are offered in good faith and any conclusions I have drawn are from information found on the Internet. I am not an expert in these subjects and the information is written as a guide to help Solex owners with getting their machines through the first M.O.T. test. I have included links to the relevant information but you should still check these out for your own satisfaction. Just because I have said it here does not make it true or legal!

As all of us with an unregistered Velosolex will need an M.O.T. test as part of the registration process, there are some things you will definitely need - and some things you won’t! For the sake of the test, a Solex is generally defined as a ‘moped’. In loose terms, this means it is a motorcycle with an engine capacity no greater than 50 cc and with a design speed of less than 50 k.p.h. (31 m.p.h.) and it can be moved by pedals – if it was first used before 1st September 1977. (Just to complicate things, before 1-9-77 there was no maximum speed restriction so long as they were less than 50 cc – but that won’t be a Solex problem!)

The following information has been taken from the VOSA M.O.T. manual. See https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/510388/mot-inspection-manual-classes-1-2.pdf  Solexes and mopeds come under the 'Class 1' regulations.

FRONT LIGHT: A motor bicycle is only required to have a dipped-beam headlamp (but may also have a main beam) if it:

a) was used on or after 1st May 1995 and cannot exceed 50 k.p.h. (31 m.p.h.) with an engine capacity not exceeding 50 cc. or